Concentrate Better With Chewing Gum?

Perhaps I should start chewing gum while I meditate. Today my students have brought to my attention the latest news that chewing gum helps when you need to concentrate, and is particularly helpful at the back end of a task requiring sustained attention. I’m not sure which shocks me more; that chewing gum is useful for more than popping your ears on the airplane, or that it has somehow been “well established by previous research” without me hearing about it before this.

This news led my father to propose the following modification of an old jingle:

“Double your pleasure, double your memory

Doublemint, doublemint, doublemint gum”

What it lacks for in rhyme it makes up for in cognitive appeal. But it might not be too long before the chewing gum manufacturers come up with a snazzier version to push product.

Leave a Reply

